About Young Leadership New York

Young Leadership New York (YL-NY) was founded in 2002. Since its inception, YL-NY has grown to a community 10,000+ strong of young professionals ages 21-40. It is comprised of emerging philanthropists from a span of professional trades. We are committed to raising funds to care for the wellbeing of Israel's soldiers.

YL-NY’s fundraising efforts provide IDF soldiers with economic support through the DIGNITY program, much-needed weeks of rest and relaxation, flights home for Lone Soldiers, and much more.

Governed by a Board of 39 dedicated lay leaders, YL-NY offers a diverse range of educational and social activities throughout the year, including parlor meetings with IDF soldiers, Shabbat dinners, large scale events at premiere venues, and a National Mission to Israel. The YL-NY Annual Gala is the premiere young Jewish philanthropic event of the year, boasting an attendance of 1,600 young professionals.

One of YL-NY’s major achievements includes the adoption of the 401st Armour Brigade, Iron Trails, an elite tank unit that leads ground forces into battle. Over $1,615,000 has been raised to care for their well-being.

Upcoming Events


FIDF Tri-State Young Leadership Gala - December 9, 2021


Contact This Chapter
Contact this chapter to learn how you can get involved with FIDF locally.

Executive Board

Douglas Bunim – President
Alex Berman – Chairman
Monica Emrani – Vice President
Brian Mermelshtein – Treasurer
Lauren Bronstein – Secretary
Simon Elkharrat – Executive Board Member
Noushka Green – Executive Board Member
Arielle Weingast Heller – Executive Board Member


Board Members

Sydney Altschuler Danielle Even Josh Lunder
Alli Spielman Alyeshmerni Shadi Farahi Paige Moelis
Lexi Bakhash Rachel Fix Alex Oanono
Colby Berman Eric Harounian Amanda Paul
Jamie Burke Josh Kadden Sophie Polins
Michael Celler Jeff Kashi Benjamin Shor
Katie Chaplin Caroline Klatt Harrison Sitomer
Jessica Chestler Arielle Kraus Joseph Stern
Nicole Damaghi Ariel Kreisler Ari Weiss


Past Presidents

Alex Berman Adam Tantleff
Ashley Emrani Tony Felzen
Lemor Balter Howard Schor
Jeremy Shure  


Past Chairmen

Douglas Bunim Brian Mermelshtein
Lemor Balter Jane Oster
Jason Schwalbe Tony Felzen